1066 Costal Conflict

A great tournament run at the 1066 games club in Hastings.  We had 9 players and Emily our TO also played to avoid a bye! We had 6 great tables of scenery!  Thanks to Emily Kindleysides for taming the chaos and running the event.  Special thanks to all who bought scenery Dan Barber and the HATE gaming crew from London!

LIST A

IMG_5076

Japanese Sectorial Army

GROUP 1 8 / 1
YURIKO ODA Combi Rifle, Panzerfaust, D-Charges, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 24)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
KEISOTSU Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 9)
KEISOTSU Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 17)
SAITO TOGAN Combi Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, EXP CCW, Knife. (0 | 39)
RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
HÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
WARCOR (Aerocam) Flash Pulse / Stun Pistol, Knife. (0 | 3)

GROUP 25 / 3
HARAMAKI Missile Launcher / Pistol, DA CCW. (1.5 | 33)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, AP CCW. (0 | 22)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, AP CCW. (0 | 22)
DOMARU Spitfire / Pistol, E/M CCW. (2 | 38)
OYAMA Lieutenant Chain Rifle, E/M Grenades / Breaker Pistol, AP CCW, EXP CCW. (0 | 28)

6 SWC | 300 Points

LIST B

IMG_5098

Japanese Sectorial Army

GROUP 1 8 / 1
KEMPEI Combi Rifle / Pistol, CCW, Electric Pulse. (0 | 17)
KEISOTSU Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 9)
KEISOTSU Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 17)
KEISOTSU HMG / Pistol, Knife. (1 | 17)
KEISOTSU Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 9)
RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
HÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
WARCOR (Aerocam) Flash Pulse / Stun Pistol, Knife. (0 | 3)
SHINOBU Combi Rifle, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0.5 | 47)

GROUP 25 / 4
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 23)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 23)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Combi Rifle / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 29)
HARAMAKI Missile Launcher / Pistol, DA CCW. (1.5 | 33)
OYAMA Lieutenant Chain Rifle, E/M Grenades / Breaker Pistol, AP CCW, EXP CCW. (0 | 28)

5.5 SWC | 300 Points


Game 1 vs Dan (Epsolon921).  Frontline. LIST A

IMG_5078

JSA vs Tohaa

I won the initiative and decided to take the risk of going second and choosing deployment.

Round 1 – Toga

The Tohaa pushed up quickly.  A Symbiobeast and handler moved up the west flank, but the TR HMG managed to draw a LoF across almost the entire table and gun down the handler!  Next he bought up a Triad with a Sniper and Missile Launcher.  The Sniper took exception to the WarCor taking pictures so took his head off! The missile launcher then moved up and engaged my Haramaki.  The blast caught two of them, I shot back with a Blitzen on one and isolated him!  The blast put down the other Haramaki.  He then moved an Engineer/Medic servant up and un-isolated him.

Round 1 – JSA

I moved up the Haramaki Missile launcher and engaged his missile launcher and managed to take him down (although it took a couple of shots).  Next I put up Assisted fire on the Rui Shi and sent it in after the Sniper and managed to put it down on unconscious.  The Rui Shi moved up the table and set up a suppression fire field in the centre of the table.  For the last order Saito Togan appeared and took down a loan Tohaa.

Round 2 – Tohaa

Another symbiobeast and handler made its way down the east flank and this time it ran into Yuriko Odo’s Panzerfaust!  She landed the hit and took it out!  He moved up another Triad with a Spitfire to get it into the scoring zones.  The Medic servant managed to move over to the unconscious Sniper and bring him back!  The Kerail Symbiobeast handler was not out of the fight though and moved in, managing to take out Yuriko!

Round 2 – JSA

Emboldened by my success with the Rui Shi in the prior turn I loaded up the support ware again and sent it into the thick of the action.  It came up the spitfire triad with good stats’ burst 4 hitting on 15’s… and it got critted!  I switched to the Hamaraki link and moved them up to engage the spitfire.  After several bursts and several complete ties my Domaru with Spitfire had taken a wound but it was still a stand off!!!!

I tried to dislodge the Kerail with a Keisotsu but the Keisotsu was shot down.  The other Keisostu on the east flank set up a field of suppression fire to discourage the Kerail from moving up further!

Now Saito Togan decided to make his move and ran up to the bottom of the building where the sniper was – ready to strike next turn.

Round 3 – Tohaa

All the action was with the Hamarki link now.  The Spitfire triad kept gunning for the Domaru and finally took him down.  He moved up the triad into the centre ground taking down another Haramaki.  He moved up a triad of line troops and went for my Neko Oyama my Lt. who took a wound but then managed to dodge out of sight.  The Haramaki Missile Launcher was preventing the line troopers from moving up so the previously downed sniper tried to engage my Haramaki missile launcher but he dodged and went prone behind cover.  This allowed the line troopers to press their attack on the Haramaki who took out one of them with his contender but then was taken down.  The spitfire triad moved up on Neko and attacked him but he managed to dodge 4” towards the leader.  He then sent in a heavy flamethrower but Neko dodged again this time landing in 2mm of the Spitfire Tohaa!

Round 3 – JSA

Time for a last push.  Neko Oyama cross the last 2mm to the Tohaa with spitfire and rolled a crit!  The Tohaa with CC 13 then citted back!  The other Tohaa with the flamethrower also ARO’d and cooked Oyama extra crispy!  Saito Togan popped smoke onto the roof of the building, climbed up and cut down the Tohaa sniper.  He then moved through the smoke as far as he could to get into the enemy scoring zone.  I co-ordinated a move and moved up the Keisotsu into the friendly scoring zone.  Then in a last desperate move my Hamakai missile launcher popped up and took down the Tohaa line trooper with a pistol shot!

Game END!

I scored then Enemy Zone (5).  Dan won the neutral middle zone (even after applying INTEL COM of 37 to my last surviving 33 point Haramaki missile launcher) (3).  I scored the friendly zone (1).

Final Score

Partial Victory to the JSA 6-3 (108 VP – 189 VP)

It may have been a win but I had lost a lot more army points!!!


Game 2 vs Dan (Epsolon921). Quadrant Control. LIST A

IMG_5086

IMG_5096

JAS vs Tohaa

Yes – it’s not a misprint I was playing Dan again.  Because we were 5th and 6th on the score table we were paired again – and due to the android tablet that was being used not wanting to change the pairings we conceded defeat to technology and decided to play again – both using the same lists.  This time I lost Initiative and he chose to go second and choose deployment.

Round 1 JSA

The Tohaa missile launcher/sniper triad had set up on a roof top so I decided to start off by moving in with my Rui Shi.  I loaded it again with Assisted fire and pushed up nut the Rui Shi got taken down by an ARO from the Tohaa spitfire!  Changing tack I switched link team and moved up Yuriko and the Keisotsu along the East side.  She popped out and shot at an enemy Tohaa on a roof top at -3 range but the Tohaa put down smoke.  The smoke actually helped though!  It allowed her to move further around the edge and get the missile launcher Tohaa into shot – and take him down with two Panzerfaust shots!

I switched the link back to the Haramaki (who only has 3 orders s two had been taken away).  They moved up and engaged with Tohaa Sniper landed one hit and knocked off his Symbiont armour but on the second attack he got critted and took a wound.

Turn 1 Tohaa

He moved up with a Triad containing a flame thrower – and the WarCor on the roof started flash pulsing them…. So smoke went down over the top of his sniper who then decided that the WarCor on the roof top needed to be dealt with and blew his head off.  He then targeted the missile launcher but the missile launcher Haramaki dodge back into cover.  The flame unit moved up and flamed Yuriko who was on suppression.  She took him down and made her ARM roll.  He moved his Sniper across and took a shot on Yuriko – who managed to dodge back into cover, but now she had moved back and broken suppression.  So a doctor moved up and healed the flamer unit.  The flamer unit moved around and flamed all of the Keisotsu link and the Rui Shi, taking dowm one of the Keisotsu and destroying the Rui Shi, but he got taken down in a hail of bullets.  On the other side of the table he moved up a triad to claim the north west quadrant.

END ROUND 1 DRAW

JSA 1 OP – Tohaa 1 OP

Round 2 JSA

And then Saito Togan appeared…  He moved up to the triad in the north west quadrant throwing smoke to cover, and then chopped his was through all three of them in three orders!  Next the Haramaki link moved up and took out the enemy sniper with 2 missile hits (6 armour saves!).  This let my Haramaki link to move up into the centre ground and cause complete carnage blasting two more Tohaa units (including a Symbiobeast) into pieces.

Round 2 Tohaa

Dan was in a tricky spot now but decided to push at Saito.  He moved out another triad and flamed him – but he ARO Engaged!  Now he was faced with a dilemma – to fight or not to fight…. And he chose FIGHT.  He activated the entire link and moved all three Tohaa into CC with his close combat Ectros CC 22 MA2 taking the lead.  This gave him a burst of 3 and +2 PH and chose MA1 (-3 to my CC).  I decided not to use MA4 (for burst 2) and use MA3 taking his CC to 19 and putting mine back to 24.  The dice rolled – he got two low rolls and a 20 MISS! I rolled and 20 CRIT!  Down went the Ectros!  But never willing to surrender – he rocks up with a combi rifle unit and at long range takes on the Haramaki Missile Launcher and crits him putting him down!!!!

END TURN JSA 2 Quadrants to Tohaa 1 Quadrant

JSA 4 OP Tohaa 3 OP

Round 3 JSA

Saito engaged both remaining Tohaa in CC with MA4 taking both down!  The Domaru with spitfire then took on the combi rifle Tohaa and took him out. That left only a Sybiobeast and handler.  The Domaru ran full tilt at the handler dodging 2 Pulzar blasts from the beast on the way – engaged him in close combat – hit but he made the ARM roll.

Dan conceded his 3rd turn so the final scores.

Final Score

JSA 7 OP – Tohaa 1 OP (224 VP – 20 VP)


Game 3 vs Andy (Nicho). Decapitation. LIST B

IMG_5091

IMG_5100

JSA vs Yu Jing

This was the best game of infinity I have ever played – it was a Hong Kong action movie on steroids!  He won the Initiative and decided to go first.  I deployed second and chose sides.  The table was an epic Warmill table full of rooms and corridors!  Perfect for some serious close combat!

Round 1 Yu Jing

He starts of by throwing out a couple of Monks – one of which was blasted to pieces by the Haramaki.  He revealled his own Shinobu Kitsune (at the foot of the building where Neko my LT was) and used her to throw smoke infront of my Haramaki link team.  He next moved up his Rui Shi to take it on but the Harakami shot back using sixth sense level 2 to take no penalty and blasted the Rui Shi to 2 levels of unconscious.  Well this is going well I thought… and then the Hac Tao with HMG appeared… He surprised shotted the crap out of my Total Reaction HMG!  Then terminated the WarCor with extreme prejudice.  Next the Su Jian moved up the table getting ready to strike!  The Hac Tao then went on suppression!

Round 1 JSA

Getting straight to business my Shinobu decloaked in the same room as his Celestial Guard Lt.  Throwing down smoke to cover the windows (through which the Hac Tao could see) and then speculatively fired smoke over her target.  Then she struck and separated him into two neat pieces.  That took about 6 orders!!!  I then used the Rui Shi to shoot at the Hac Tao.  Being outside of 24” he broke suppression and shot back.  We both missed.  The Haramaki tried to go at the Hac Tao.  First the missile launcher shoots and the Hac Tao takes 2 missiles to the chest.  He tanks all 6 armour rolls.  I shoot again and one missile hits and he takes a wound.  I shoot again and I take a wound.  So I switch to a Haramaki with Blitzen – and I get beaten and take a wound.  So I switch to another Haramaki with Blitzen and again I get beaten and take a wound.  HE WOULD NOT DIE!

Round 2 Yu Jing

Time to get some of my own medicine back.  He ran up is Su Jian who popped his head through a window and flamed 2 Haramaki and Neko Oyama – They all Engaged/Dodged and one moved into close combat with the Su Jian which effectively neutralised him. His Shinobu made her move tossed a smoke grenade through the window, long skill climbed up and went straight at Neko.  The big fight.  Her CC 25 vs my CC24.  We both chose MA3 (which cancelled out) and rolled and he beat me!!!  Armour roll failed – Neko Oyama was now in two pieces and I lost my LT.

Round 2 JSA

The fight was well and truly on, and I was up for it.  My Shinobu throws smoke out of the window to block the Hac Tao then climbs out – runs 20” across the battle field and cuts Andy’s new Keisostu Lt in half.  Out of order she is now at the base of the bulding behind the Hac Tao.  The Haramaki engaged with the Su Jian takes two hits at him with his DA CCW and takes him out.  2 orders left…I break the link and co-ordinate to move 2 of the Haramaki towards Shinobu.  She dodges but I use the second movement to move closer.  I’m now thinking I have her! Co-ordinating 3 Haramaki at once, they all rush her.  I choose to have the spearhead Haramaki to roll at Burst 3 (+2PH).  Shibobu activates MARTIAL ARTS LEVEL 5!!!  So I’m rolling 3 dice vs her 1 with one Haramaki and the other two will get attacked in uncontested rolls.  I can do this!  I have MA level 3 +3 to my CC -3 to hers.  I get -6 CC due to MA 5 for I’m rolling three dice CC 20 and she is rolling CC22….AND SHE ROLLS AN 18 CRIT!  That Haramaki is dead!  She then rolls on the two other Haramaki.  Hits both (not crits) and both fail the ARM 12 rolls and are dead!  She killed 3 Haramaki in one ARO! AWESOME!

 Round 3 Yu Jing

The Hac Tao takes on the last Haramaki with missile launcher and puts him down.  He the tries to shoot at my Shinobu but she throws smoke at her feet… so he turns around and takes down the Rui Shi! Shinobu then goes for my new Kempai Lt and moves towards him – I think I’m doomed at this point and then I ARO shoot and CRIT.  Bullet between the eyes!  On his last order he reveals a Guliang and moved up taking the shot and putting down my Kempai Lt. *&^&^*&.  He then uses his new LT order to move his Tokusetsu Lt into 8” of my HVT.

Round 3 JSA

I have 5 orders and a LT order – so I go completely for gutsy!  I make my Shinobu my LT.  She climbs up the building using Stealth so the Hac Tao can’t turn around but I fall 2mm short of getting to close combat, so I shoot the Hac Tao in the back at point blank.  He fails his Change Face/dodge roll.  I hit twice and he fails 1 ARM roll and goes down!!!!!  Last order of the game I move my Keisotsu Hacker into 8” of his HVY so we both don’t score secure HVT

EPIC GAME!

Final Score

Lieutenants Killed – 2 each! (2 OP Each)

Army points killed JSA 226 – Yu Jung 201 (3 OP to me)

The Hac Tao had pushed it over the edge! Down to the last dice roll!

JSA 5 OP – Yu Jing 2 OP (99 VP – 74 VP)

Final Tournament score

2nd Place 7-TP 18-OP VP-431 narrowly losing 1st place to Luis CR on 7-TP 21-OP.

Leave a Reply

