Twisted Cauldron ITS 400

Twisted Cauldron ITS 400

So we had a small ITS tournament at the Twisted Cauldron, Folkestone, Kent on Saturday the 15th October, so I thought I’d write up the standard Bat Rep, but also take time to give a shout out for our FLGS!

The Twisted Cauldron is our Friendly Local Gaming Store (FLGS!) run by Tim McDonald.  It is home to the Kentish Rogues game club (Mondays and Thursdays from 7-11 pm).  It’s not your regular store but rather a bit of a start-up company. Currently its only open on Mondays, Tuesday and Thursdays in the evening and Saturdays all day.  Although Tim keeps a stock of a few things – he orders stuff in and gives a generous 20% discount for members of the Rogues gaming club (also at the moment he’s doing a 25% discount on Infinity products).  I think it’s really important to give a shout out to having a FLGS or Games Club no matter how big or small.  Although I only manage to get up once a week for a few hours I can usually grab a game of Infinity or X-Wing, but there are plenty of other games going: Malifaux, Guildball, Age of Sigmar, 40K and board games.

We’d been planning to have an ITS tournament for some time and in fact the pack we had was the old Winter 2016 one!  We had to cancel once due to lack of numbers but this time we decided to go ahead with the help of Emily Kindleysides from 1066 Hastings Games Club who travelled down especially for the event!  On Friday night me, Tim, Grantt Ennis and Emily decided to head out for a social Chinese and then go back to the shop, set up some tables and get in a casual warm up game!

So on the day of the tournament we had 5 players.  I managed to mess up my trains (failed my forward deployment roll) and arrived late so I took a bye.  I arrived in the middle of turn 1 to watch Grantt Ennis’s Aleph and Chris Hobday’s Nomads go at each other in Supremacy, while Dave’s Ariadna (who was playing his first ITS!!!) went against Emily’s MO-rats!  Emily and Chris both took wins and when face to face in round two while I was to play against Grantt.

My Lists

List A

Twisted List A 400
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1
KEISOTSU HMG / Pistol, Knife. (1 | 17)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
KEISOTSU Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 17)
KEMPEI (Chain of Command) Combi Rifle / Pistol, CCW, Electric Pulse. (0 | 22)
HÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
YÁOZĂO Electric Pulse. (0 | 3)
SHINOBU Combi Rifle, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0.5 | 47)
RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
YOJIMBO Contender, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades, CrazyKoalas (2) / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 21)
TOKUSETSU KOHEI Engineer Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)

GROUP 2

TOKUSETSU EISEI Doctor (MediKit) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)
DOMARU Spitfire / Pistol, E/M CCW. (2 | 38)
OYAMA Lieutenant Chain Rifle, E/M Grenades / Breaker Pistol, AP CCW, EXP CCW. (0 | 28)
HARAMAKI Missile Launcher / Pistol, DA CCW. (1.5 | 33)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 23)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 23)
YÁOZĂO Electric Pulse. (0 | 3)
NINJA Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Tactical Bow / Pistol, DA CCW, Knife. (0 | 29)
WARCOR (Aerocam) Flash Pulse / Stun Pistol, Knife. (0 | 3)

7.5 SWC | 400 Points

Open in Infinity Army

List B

Twisted List B 400
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1
YURIKO ODA Combi Rifle, Panzerfaust, D-Charges, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 24)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
KEISOTSU Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 17)
KEMPEI (Chain of Command) Combi Rifle / Pistol, CCW, Electric Pulse. (0 | 22)
HÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
YÁOZĂO Electric Pulse. (0 | 3)
SHINOBU Combi Rifle, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0.5 | 47)
RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
YOJIMBO Contender, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades, CrazyKoalas (2) / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 21)
TOKUSETSU KOHEI Engineer Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)

GROUP 2
DOMARU Spitfire / Pistol, E/M CCW. (2 | 38)
OYAMA Lieutenant Chain Rifle, E/M Grenades / Breaker Pistol, AP CCW, EXP CCW. (0 | 28)
HARAMAKI Missile Launcher / Pistol, DA CCW. (1.5 | 33)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 23)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 23)
WARCOR (Aerocam) Flash Pulse / Stun Pistol, Knife. (0 | 3)
SAITO TOGAN Combi Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, EXP CCW, Knife. (0 | 39)

6.5 SWC | 400 Points

Open in Infinity Army

Game 2

  • Opponent: Grantt Ennis
  • Faction: Aleph
  • Mission: Capture and Protect
  • List: A

img_5763

Grantt was one of the people who introduced me to infinity but the last and only time I’d played him was a year ago vs his Nomads in a two player game – while I was still learning the game!  Grantt as of course been kind of busy recently what with setting up and running The Art of War Studios!  Grantt had been showing off his excellently painting new Aleph faction and I was looking forward to playing.

We randomly determined the table and it ended up being my own – homemade from Balsa – table which I had borrow a great TT Combat cargo ship from Tim to make a dock side.

Grantt won initiative and decided to go first and I chose table edge.  After initial set up Grantt place down his hold back Teucer with Multi-Sniper opposite by Haramaki Missile Launcher in a 5 man link.  I placed my hidden unit…. (ominous music).[Side note – it was no secret what that hidden unit would be and Grantt had taken his B List intentionally so as not to have a TAG on the table J )

Turn 1 Aleph

So we both knew what the first move of the game would be!  Teucer opened up on my Haramaki.  It was close – Teucer Burst 2 on 15’s and me on Burst 2 on 16’s… and I got the hit.  Blast, explosive missile, and it took out Teucer, a Dakini and a G:Servant bot.  Not a great start for Grantt.  Next up was a Proxy with HMG.  He shot at the missile launcher with 4 dice but was at bad range and the missile launcher landed a hit on him and put him down!

He knew I had a hidden unit down so he moved up carefully with his other units.  Using a Myrmidon and his sexy looking Asuras (Spitfire/MSV3) up to guard the objective.  He put down smoke over the Asurus and lit up my TR REM with his spitfire and put it down.  Last off he placed a Dakini HMG on suppression and moved the Asurus back into cover.

Turn 1 JSA

I led off with my hidden deployment TO: Camo Killer hacker Ninja!  She popped out prone right next to the west console, but there was an issue a nearby camo token – not in LoF but in Hacking Range.  So I decided to drop out of hidden with the first move and force the ARO which he passed on, then successfully WP the console on the second SS.

Time for Shibobu!  She had been in Hidden Deployment right next to the Asurus (MSV3) and Myrmidon, but they had gone past her in smoke.  She appeared out of LoF of them and dropped smoke, next to the Myrmidon.  I then moved through the smoke with Stealth right under a watching Dakini HMG on Supression.  The Asurus was looking the wrong way.  I still wasn’t convinced I would be successful vs the Myrmidon in CC (MA3 CC22) so I spent and extra order going back into marker state then did a surprise attack and landed the CRIT taking him out!  The Asurus was in ZoC so made a change face.  So now Shinobu was face to Face with the Asurus, but there was still a Dakini HMG who could cover her…

I decided to move up the Haramaki link.  They moved along a building top then dropped down to street level but on the way did a discover on the Camo token.  It decided to reveal as a hidden Dasyus hacker and dodged making it into total cover behind crates right next to my Ninja hacker.  The Haramaki continued along and the Domaru Spitfire took point, popping out and taking on the Dakini HMG but lost and took a wound.  So I decided to run my G:Servant on the roof up to my TR HMG – the Dakini opened up but was out of suppression range!  I made the WP and repaired the bot.  Now my TR HMG was up I fired on the Dakini who had to break suppression to shoot back and put it down… Now Shinobu was clear.  She ran at the Asurus but Grantt revealed a hidden TO Camo Dasyus Hacker.  Shinobu decided to concentrate on the Asurus and decided to go for a MA3 attack at CC28 and landed a CRIT, but then she took a boarding shotgun to the back from the Dasyus.

Last move of the turn I used my Ninja and instead of hacking she vaulted the boxes and when into CC with the other Dasysu taking her down!.

At this point Grantt decided to concede the game so we called it at 10-0 and 353 VP for me.

Final Result

Grantt Loss 0 TP, 0 OP, 0 VP

Stuart Full Win 3 TO, 10 OP, 353 VP

Game 2

  • Opponent: Chris Hobday
  • Faction: Dirty Nomads
  • Mission: Seize the Antenna
  • List: A

img_5764

Chris and I have shed so much blood on the battlefield of infinity we knew this would be a battle Royal!  No prisoners!  We got to play on Grantts great table which was presented some really interested LoF.  Chris won the WP and took 1st turn.  I was able to set up my Haramaki link on the high ground and get a great ARO position with the Haramaki ML.

Turn 1 Nomads

Chris lead off with his Impetuous Morlocks.  He then loaded up his Tsyklon with Assisted fire and climbed up to take on my Haramaki, but two of the Haramaki fire back not only putting it down on unconscious level 2 but also immobilised due to a Blitzen.  He had set up wellthough and moved his clock maker over and fixed it up.  He then ran up the west side with a Morlock – and a cursed myself for missing the LoF.  The Morlock got close enough to take on my TR REM and a Keisotsu with a chain rifle, but I also revealed Shinobu behind him and shot him down but both the TR Rem and Keisotsu went down!  Now he knew where Shinobu was he had to kill her!  So he used his Interventor Hacker and put a Spotlight on her.  Then out came the Guided Missile and lit her up, but she dodged and with Kinematica managed to get to cover and in LoF of the Vertigo Zond.  Next he decided to throw down with Cassandra Kusanagi with a SpitFire.  So I took the risk and tried to Engage and won the F2F – but it was all a TRAP!  He then wheeled up his Stempler Zond and shot into close combat using triangulated fire, so no -6 for TO Camo, no -6 for being in an engaged state and down Shinobu went…. Dirty Nomads!

Now Kusanagi had a clear run down the west side.  She took on and put down in quick succession Yuriko Oda, a Kempetei and Keisotsu and last off in a very close roll my Rui Shi!  Finally though he was out of orders!

Plus he grabbed the closest Antenna with a Zero.

Turn 1 JSA

I had taken a serious mauling in the first turn having lost 7/10 orders in my 1st combat group, so I moved around my combat groups a bit.  First up I decided to deal with Kisuragi.  Yo Jimbo sped up with his motorcycle and threw in a smoke grenade, then hopped off and ran up to Kisuragi and put her down!

The Haramaki were up next.  I split burst with two missiles, placing one in a cluster of units and managed to take out the Zero, the Stempler and a Transductor Zond in one hit and another Transductor with the second.

Next I used a G:Servant to put back up my TR REM who shot up a Jaguar, Krakot and Koala but only managed to put down the Krakot, before the Jaguar threw down smoke.  This was awkward as it also stopped my Haramaki ML drawing a LoF onto his Vertigo Zond with the missiles.

In an attempt to secure the middle ground I revealed Saito Togan and went after a camo token which was right on the central antenna.  I tried to discover shoot and Chris decided to take his chances but I made the roll and put the revealed Prowler down.  Last off I lined up my Haramaki with his Vertigo Missile Launcher REM ready to ARO it.

Turn 2 Nomads

The nomads had yet more dirty tricks.  In a move which I knew was coming and yet I didn’t defend against he dropped a Meteor Zone on the other side of a building from my Haramaki link.  His Interventor then lit up my Haramaki after a couple of attempts with Spotlight, but my Haramaki has his Vertigo REM in LoF so any roll would be face to face…. So he tried to use the Jaguar to throw down smoke but the Jaguar was in LoF of my TR REM so he decided to throw the smoke in a non-opposed position so it wouldn’t be a face to face.  First throw he rolls 19 and misses and my REM puts a couple of HMG rounds in him but he saves 1 and goes dogged.  Second attempt he misses again and this time the HMG puts him down.  So now he has the hard choice – he goes F2F using his Vertigo vs my Haramaki…and WINS! 1 dice on 14’s vs 2 dice on 16’s!  My Haramaki and his buddy next to him go down hard, failing both ARM rolls to the AP DA D14 smart missile.

With the centre ground no longer covered out comes the Zero and throws himself across the battle field and grabs the central antenna.  Last of all he moved a Massai Hunter up to my HMG REM and then tried to hack through his repeater but my REM saves its BTS and falls back 2” out of hacking range.

Turn 2 JSA

We are running low on time now – so he decision is made by the TO to make this the last turn.  I have to grab an antenna to draw and two to win, but with limited orders it seems impossible.

Yo Jimbo pops out with his impetuous order and takes a shot at the cocky Zero on the central Antenna but misses, so uses his irregular order and hits putting a hole in him with his contender!  I then use Saito Togan to take down the Meteor Zond.  This leaves an open path now for my last surviving Keisotsu who is a hacker.  He spends all but 1 of my orders running up to the central antenna and goes for the WP12 roll – but fails, and then takes a Crazy Koala to the face and fails his ARM roll – dead!

And so that was it – the one chance to draw level missed.  I did get the consolation point by moving Yo Jimbo into ZoC of Chris’s HVT and secured it.

Final Result

Chris Full Win 3 TP 6 VP

Stuart Loss 0 TP 1 OP 184 VP

Final Standings

Chris deservedly took 1st place on 8 TP  and won his first ITS!  Our travelling TO Emily took second  on 5 TP and I was knocked into third on 5 TP but beaten on OP.  Great games – and I look forward to another ITS at the Twisted Cauldron Next Year!

Leave a Reply

