Reports from the Front -Bikers and Ninjas

Learning to play a new style of list or a new faction can sometimes be a painful process!  It’s easy sometimes to pick up that winning Haramaki link team list – but this time I thought I would take a leap into the unknown!

So I took these two very different lists to the Reports from the Front -One day event at Hydra in High Broom (near Tonbridge)

My Lists

List A

So i’ve just bought and painted up a set of Aragoto bikers so I though it would be great to run the 6 biker list.  After a couple of practice games I settled on the list below:

Asukas Biker Gang

img_6091
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1 8 / 1 / 6
ASUKA KISARAGI Lieutenant Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower / Assault Pistol, Knife. (0 | 27)
ARAGOTO Combi Rifle + Light Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 24)
ARAGOTO Spitfire / Pistol, Knife. (1 | 26)
ARAGOTO Combi Rifle + Light Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 24)
ARAGOTO Hacker (Assault Hacking Device) Combi Rifle + Light Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 30)
YOJIMBO Contender, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades, CrazyKoalas (2) / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 21)
HÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
YÁOZĂO Electric Pulse. (0 | 3)
TOKUSETSU KOHEI Engineer Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)
RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)

GROUP 25
KEISOTSU Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 17)
KEISOTSU Missile Launcher / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 14)
YURIKO ODA Combi Rifle, Panzerfaust, D-Charges, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 24)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
KEMPEI (Chain of Command) Boarding Shotgun / Pistol, CCW, Electric Pulse. (0 | 21)

5.5 SWC | 300 Points

Open in Infinity Army

List B

Now this was a really crazy list – one I’ve wanted to play for ages – the complete TO:Camo list!

Ninjas
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

8 / 1
NINJA Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Tactical Bow / Pistol, DA CCW, Knife. (0 | 29)
NINJA Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Tactical Bow / Pistol, DA CCW, Knife. (0 | 29)
NINJA Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Tactical Bow / Pistol, DA CCW, Knife. (0 | 29)
NINJA MULTI Sniper Rifle / Pistol, Shock CCW, Knife. (1.5 | 42)
SAITO TOGAN Combi Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, EXP CCW, Knife. (0 | 39)
SHINOBU Lieutenant Combi Rifle, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (1 | 47)
ONIWABAN Boarding Shotgun, Nanopulser / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0 | 41)
ONIWABAN Boarding Shotgun, Nanopulser / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0 | 41)
WARCOR (Aerocam) Flash Pulse / Stun Pistol, Knife. (0 | 3)

2.5 SWC | 300 Points

Open in Infinity Army

Game 1

  • Opponent:Doug – Luddite
  • Faction: Nomads
  • Mission: Annihilation
  • List: A

So a straight out kill or be killed mission!  Good way to start the day.  I won initiative and opted to take first turn and Doug chose deployment.

Round 1 JSA

I kicked off straight away with all the bikers throwing down impetuous orders and moving up the table, but I couldn’t risk going too far.  There was a Taskmaster HMG sitting behind a set of crates, plus a Moran with some Koalas!

I decided to try and take the problem head on and threw out the spitfire Aragoto 4 dice on 12’s vs 1 on 13’s and down went the Aragoto!  It was going to be one of those days!

I changed to the right flank and moved up my Keisotsu link team.  I managed to draw a LoF with my missile launcher onto one of the Koala’s and caught the Moran in the blast!  I continued to move up the link and moved Yuriko Odo up to take on a Krakot and put him down.  She then tried to take on a cameo’s zero but got diced!

Back to the main pool I decided to bring up the Rui Shi to support the link team and took down the Zero with the MSV2 enhanced Spitfire.  With my last action I placed some bikers and the spitfire on suppression.

Round 1 Nomads

First up Doug activated a Morlock (superhero) – sprinted across open ground throwing smoke and managed to avoid 8 ARO dice from the entire Keisotsu link!  He then moved into range of the Rui Shi and made 2 more dodge rolls moving across and out of its LoF.  The Morlock leapt a crate and opened up with his Chain Rifle taking down two Aragoto’s, who both failed to dodge.  Luckily the HMG TR REM managed to put him down.

The Taskmaster decided to take on the TR HMG and after 3 exchanged of fire the Taksmaster has taken a wound but the TR REM was down.  He then activated a Zero Hacker and got hist classified by data scanning the downed Aragoto spitfire

Next up a Jaguar moved up and with his last order opened up with his chain rifle catching ALL of the Keisotsu!  But they all managed to dodge.

Round 2 JSA

First job was to kill the Jaguar!  I couldn’t do it with anyone near it as they would get chain rifled so I bought up Asuka Kisuragi, but it took 3 attacks to put him down!

Next up the Rui Shi was buffed with Assisted Fire and went on a killing spree!  It managed to take down a Lunakhod REM with 2 Koalas.  It then moved out and finally managed to put down the task master!

Yo Jimbo them revved up and and took down the Zero with a DA close combat attack!

Round 2 Nomads

They had taken a beating but Doug’s Nomads were still in the game and I had made a terrible mistake!  I left my Rui Shi facing way from a prone Camo marker on a roof top.  So out came the Spektre and blasted it with a combo rifle.  He then took down another member of the Keisotsu link team.

On the other side of the table a Riot girl with Spitfire stepped out of a building and managed to take out Yo Jimbo and my last Aragoto!

Round 3 JSA

Things were desperate.  I was down to 6 orders!  First I went after the Riot Girl using Asuka Kisuragi, she made good rolls vs the Riot Girl and the got critted to the head! BOOOM!

I resorted to using an Engineer and stepped out to take on the Riot Girl and again BOOM! put down!

So all I had left was my three man link team.  They tried to go for the Spektre and he put one of them down!

Round 3 Nomads

All the spectre needed to do now was take out two members of the link team and he did with ease!  Tabled in the last round

Final Score

Nomads Complete Victory 3 TO, 8 OP, 119VP

JSA Loss, 0 TO, 1 OP, 0VP

Game 2

  • Opponent:Rob Neal
  • Faction: ISS
  • Mission: Safe Area
  • List: A

Last time I play Rob the game was so close it was one by a few army points in the Armoury so I knew this was going to be tough.  This time he was playing ISS with a shiny new Wu Ming link!  I won the initiative and took first turn

Round 1 JSA

Ron set up really well do I had to cancel all my impetuous orders to avoid running into a Wu Ming HRL and HMG!!!!

I then set down smoke with Yo Jimbo and moved up my Rui Shi to gain LoF on the HRL.  With Assisted Fire loaded up he shot at the HRL and double critted!  I moved up the rest of my bikers with a co-ordintaed order and then ran up my Spitfire Aragoto to try and take on the HMG but crits go both ways and the Aragoto went down hard!

The 5 man link team moved up to stake out the console shooting a Lu Dian holoecho along the way and setting up a good ARO field.

Round 1 ISS

The now 4 man Wu Ming link kicked into action and the HMG went after the Rui Shi on supression.  The Rui Shi won the first exchange and put a wound onto the HMG!  But that was short lived and the Wu Ming then hit it three times and completely totalled in in one attack!

Next Rob moved his Lu Duan – having to take a round about rout to avoid ARO’s it moved up to threaten by bikers.  It loaded up with suppression.  I dodged with my bikers and shot with the TR HMG and the Lu Dian shot back but the attacks nullified!  We went again only this time I remembered one of my bikers was a hacker so he did Carbonite.  The Lu Daun split fire and killed the hacker but got taken down by the TR Remote.

Round 2 JSA

I moved up my Aragoto and tired to take on the Wu Ming HMG and was put down!  Next we noticed there was a LoF across the table through two windows to the HMG from the Keisotsu link.  First up was the missile launcher who lost the face to face but took the hit to hit armour and cover.  Next Yuriko launched two Panzerfausts, but got put down!

Finally I moved up Yo Jimbo to get into a better position for a run at the Wu Ming

Round 2 ISS

The Wu Ming went to work on the Link team and managed to take down the missile launcher.  He then moved across and put down Yo Jimbo!  Finally he then moved up a celestial guard to take on the link team but got put down by an ARO.

Round 3 JSA

Last chance to take down the Wu Ming HMG.  Asuka Kisuragi made a run at him and finally put him down! Now with the massive 8-6 movement the Aragoto managed to get all the way to Robs DZ.  He the took out a celestial guard, a Dakini and a baggage bot.

The last two surviving members of the Keisotsu link spread out and the Kempei went prone behind  a console.

Round 3 ISS

Crunch time.  Rob moved up his Celestial Guard Lt vs the Aragoto on his DZ but amazingly the Aragoto put him down!  He then moved his last two Wu Ming out of his DZ and a celestial guard.  Last of all a hidden Ninja Killer Hacker appeared and killed my racer in CC.

Final Score

This was close.  We added up quadrants.  Rob had his two.  I had one – and one was contested.  We both put down out intel COM and mine added to my 21 point Kempei was greater than his added to his Killer hacker!  So we both scored 3 – but I had one console so I scored 4!

JSA – Partial Victory 2 TP, 4 OP, 84 VP

ISS – Loss 0 TP, 3 OP, 136 VP

Game 3

  • Opponent:Rob Thomas
  • Faction: Corregidor
  • Mission: Transmission Matrix
  • List: B

It was time to bring out the crazy list.  I won initiative and chose to deploy second, but then Rob chose to go second! Rob deployed first then I sent him away for a while 🙂 When he came back I pointed to my WarCor – that’s my army!  Let the chaos begin!

Round 1 JSA

I made some real mistakes in my deployment based on the misconception that bare-handed attacked were silent and that silent would stop Boost AROs from Crazy Koala’s – both turn out to be wrong!

Due to the way I set up I started in Loss of LT (and Shinobu was in hidden deployment) but that didn’t matter as each of my hidden units could only spend their own order when deploying to the table.

1st action I reveal a Oniwaniban and cut down a Moran but get him by two Koalas and make BOTH ARM rolls! Next I revealed a Ninja killer hacker and split a Trinity attack 2 dice on a Alguaciles Hacker and 1 on Valerya Gromez but the rolls failed.  I reveal another Killer hacker and this one killed the Alguaciles but Gromez killed him!  I revealed the last killer hacker and did Red Rum on Gromez and put her down!

Next I moved up Saito Togan as a marker but he got discovered.  So i decided to go for the dodge to get rid of the Koalas but I rolled a 1 and he dodge the Koalas but got hit by 3 shots from a TR HMG bot!  I next revealed an Oniwaniban and sliced down another Moran.

Last of all I revealed a Ninja Sniper and popped out to take aim on a camp marker, but he delayed so I jumped back into a building

Round 1 Corregidor

Rob spent a while shuffling about trying to work out how to protect himself.  Then he moved is camp token off the roof and towards my Oniwaniban.  He revealed as a Intruder with HMG and MSV2.  He moved up and dug out the Oniwaniban shooting him down.

I won the first turn and score 2 OP from controlling 2 antenna.

Round 2 JSA

I had elected a new LT but I only had 5 orders left now…. I bought in Shinobu off the table and went up a ladder towards his TR REM, but then fluffed two spec fire smoke grenades.  So she jumped onto the roof and shot 2 into a clockmaker and 1 into the REM but missed the REM and the clockmaker save all the ARM rolls.

Round 2 Corregidor

The Intruder went on a killing spree.  He dig out the Ninja Sniper and killed him.  He then shot up the WarCor! Finally he moved the Intruder down the table and shot down my killer hacker.  He then moved a Flashpulse REM into range on another Antenna.

End of Turn 2 he had two antenna and I had one so he scored 2.

Round 3 JSA

Only 3 orders left, I activated Shinobu, and threw down smoke, avoiding ARO’s from a suppressing clockmaker and at an impossible to hit -12 vs the TR bot.  She then attacked the bot but it made the Monofilament ARM check!  So I had to hit it again to take it down.  Mt new LT shot a tac bow at the flash pulse REM but with mimitism and a -6 range mod she missed by a mile!

Round 3 Corregidor

Rob finished things up by shooting down my last Killer hacker with the Intruder and then securing HVT to score a final score of 6 points

Final Score

Corregidor Partial Victory 2 VP, 6 OP, 191VP

JSA Loss 0 VP, 2 OP, 88 VP

Final Results

Well i did’t get the wooden spoon but came 7/8.  It was great fun to try the TO camo list and I would be tempted to run it again (after a bit more practice).

Thanks for Rob Neal for running a great tournament!  Look forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

