Totally Crit 9

Totally Crit 9 – Bat Rep

@ Hydra Gaming Club, High Broom/Tonbridge, Kent, UK

A great tournament with an excellent turn out of 20 players.  This was my third Totally Crit and it wasn’t going to disappoint.  There were 11 great looking tables – most from the local Hydra Gaming Club, but quite a few bought down by other gaming clubs like HATE Intifity.

Thanks to the Totally Crit Heads James, John, Rob and Chris for their fourway TOing and organising an excellent day.

The tables where down, the armies ready, let battle commence!

The tables

My Lists

List A

img_6431

GROUP 1
HARAMAKI Missile Launcher / Pistol, DA CCW. (1.5 | 33)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Combi Rifle / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 29)
HARAMAKI Blitzen, Light Shotgun / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 24)
OYAMA Lieutenant Chain Rifle, E/M Grenades / Breaker Pistol, AP CCW, EXP CCW. (0 | 28)
DOMARU Chain Rifle, E/M Grenades / Pistol, E/M CCW. (0 | 25)

GROUP 2
HÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
TOKUSETSU KOHEI Engineer Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)
SHINOBU Combi Rifle, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0.5 | 47)
KEISOTSU Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 17)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
YÁOZĂO Electric Pulse. (0 | 3)
TOKUSETSU EISEI Doctor (MediKit) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)

4.5 SWC | 299 Points

Open in Infinity Army

List B

img_6428

GROUP 1
KEISOTSU Lieutenant Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (1 | 9)
KEISOTSU HMG / Pistol, Knife. (1 | 17)
KEISOTSU Missile Launcher / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 14)
YURIKO ODA Combi Rifle, Panzerfaust, D-Charges, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 24)
KEMPEI (Chain of Command) Boarding Shotgun / Pistol, CCW, Electric Pulse. (0 | 21)

GROUP 2
KEISOTSU Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 17)
RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
NINJA Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Tactical Bow / Pistol, DA CCW, Knife. (0 | 29)
KARAKURI Mk12, Chain Rifle, D.E.P. / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 40)
KARAKURI Heavy Shotgun, Chain Rifle, D.E.P. / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 35)
KARAKURI (Fireteam: Haris) Combi Rifle, Chain Rifle, D.E.P. / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 36)
YOJIMBO Contender, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades, CrazyKoalas (2) / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 21)
YÁOZĂO Electric Pulse. (0 | 3)
TOKUSETSU KOHEI Engineer Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)

5.5 SWC | 300 Points

Open in Infinity Army

Game 1

  • Opponent: John Benford
  • Faction: Shock Army of Ancontecimento
  • Mission: Safe Area
  • List: A

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First round draw against one of the Crit Heads!  I have played John now a few times and I think on the grade scheme of things we were 1 game a piece!  So I knew this was going to be a tough first round.  I won the initiative roll and decided to take choose deployment and to set up second.  John though chose to go second realising that is was an advantage in Safe Area!  We both take INTEL COM.

Round 1 JSA

It looked like the perfect set up!  John had a 5 man link team in a building and behind that his Tikbalang.  I got the roll for Shinobu and placed her just round the corner from the Tikbalang.  1st order she activates and throws down smoke to cover her advance. 2nd order show uses Stealth and moved up though the smoke ready to strike.  Then she jumps out of the smoke and comes at the Tikbalang from his rear fire arc – Martial Arts Level 4 2 dices on 25’s vs 1 dice on 17’s – and she goes down hard, 8 and 10 vs 16!  There goes plan A.

Plan B….. I load up the Rui Shi with Assisted Fire and move up on Teucer who was covering the fire lane leading to the building where his link team are camped out.  In cover and at good range – 4 dice vs 1….. and it takes 4 attempts to put him down.  I won, he ARM saves, he won the next and I saved, then we both critted! Finally he went down with the fourth burst!

I was now free to move Haramaki link up but with only 3 orders (As he has stripped 2 from this pool) I could only get into a good fire position – leaving my Missile Launcher and Combi/Blitzen covering the building with his link team….

Round 1 SAOA

John starts not with a TAG but a camo marker he has deployed near his console.  The marker goes prone and moves along the roof tops and then reveals as a Naga Assault Hacker who then uses Oblivion to isolate first my Combi Haramaki and then the Missile Launcher which drops them from the link.  He moves up and tried to Oblivion the Rui Shi and failed but my Keisotsu hacker brainblasts him through the repeater and puts him dogged.  He then tried to Oblivion the Rui Shi again – succeeds but the my hacker finishes him off.

With my link nerffed – he moved out cautiously with his Tikbalang and taking on one at a time, he managed to take down my Combi Haramaki and Missile launcher Haramaki.  He then moved to the other tableside and went for my TR HMG taking it down.  He tried to destroy it with another shot but the inactive TR REM tanks the ARM saves.

Round 2 JSA

I have to deal with the TAG!  So I take all my 4 command tokens to move the hacker out of my main combat group and move the Neko Oyama, Domaru and Haramaki Boarding Shotgun into the main group.  The three man link team then move across the table and up to the TAG.  Neko Oyama takes the lead and rushes the TAG which in return flames him.  Oyama lands one hit with his AP/explosive dual wield CC weapons and the TAG fails all the ARM saves but in return Oyama fails three ARM saves and gets made extra crispy…. (did I mention he was my Lieutenant…..).  I take the Domaru and Haramaki and place them defensively.  Then my Engineer manages to put my TR REM back up and place the Rui Shi on suppression with its isolated order.

Round 2 SAOA

The link team makes a break for it, and go for the Rui Shi.  After a few attempts they manage to take it down.  They then move up the table getting into good positions.  John also moves up a few more units getting his Baggage bot into his quadrant.  Finally he reveals a Naga FO who takes several shots at my Haramaki w/shotgun and manages to put him down.

Round 3 JSA

So I’m in loss of LT and with no command tokens!  I move up my Domaru to cover the 5 man link and move the other troopers up – but with only irregular orders I only manange to get my Engineers servant bot into one quadrant.  My TR HMG covers the middle fire lane to keep the link team contained.

Round 3 SAOA

The link team comes out cautionsly towards my Domaru, keeping their spacing and watching the corners (they’ve seen Aliens).  The Combi guy squares off vs the Domaru who throws EM grenades at him.  After several exchanges and ARM saves on both sides, both are still alive and the link team haven’t made any progress.  In his last two orders he moves his Naga FO and Scylla killer hacker into base contact with a console (which was a great move on his part as my INTEL COM could cancel one but not two).  With his last order he activates his Scylla again and its G:Synced Deva bot throwing it forward out of syc range and moves up flaming my TR HMG and a Keisotsu FO which were in my quadrant – but both tanked their ARM saves.  Had they died I wouldn’t have had anything left in that quadrant!

Final Score

It all finished so close with us both owning 2 quadrants each but with John in control of one console.

John Partial Victory 2 TP, 5 OP

Stuart Loss, 0 TP 4 OP

Game 2

  • Opponent: Joey (JoeyDoubleDee)
  • Faction: Morat Agression Force
  • Mission: Rescue
  • List: A

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Joey was playing his wonderfully painted Morats (which won the painting competition!) and they were going to Rescue their Banana’s.  My JSA were off to rescue some party girls!  I lost initiative and Joey chose turn order and to go first so I set up second.  Things did not start well however as Shinobu rolled a 20 for Infiltration Plus……

Round 1 Morats

Joey the decided to take a cautious approach and throwing down smoke.  He then opened up with his MSV2 sniper vs my Haramaki Missile Launcher but as he has sixth sense l2 I ignored the smoke – but as we were both fining through the centre saturation zone we both rolled 1 dice and missed.  He then moved his Vanguard link through the smoke right up the table into my half and managed to break off Treitak from the link by moving out of Coherence and tried to grab the banana but failed.  The bananas then moved 2” back.  No one seems to read the rules for Rescue (me included) and it was only on the way to the tournament I read that if you fail the Sync roll the civilian runs away by 2” in a random direction.  Joey then backed off Treitak and spent a command token to reform them link.

Round 1 JSA

So I have 5 angry monkeys in my half of the table all behind a shipping container to deal with…. In a risky and order intensive move I spend 4 orders moving the failed Shinobu all the was from the back of the table to the Vanguard and threw smoke down.  Then in a blur or 4 orders she moved through the link getting 4 kills with 4 crits!!!!!!

I then moved the Haramaki link off the roof tops.  My Missile Launcher shot down his sniper and then the team moved up the table taking down the last link team member

Round 2 Morats

Joey has taken 6 casualties in one turn but true to Morat style he came out fighting.  He walked on a Rasyat who took revenge on Shinobu from behind and gunned her down (although his first 4 shots all missed).  He then moved up his Suryat Heavy Infantry Haris to cover my civillians

Round 2 JSA

Priority one was to take out the Rasyat which the link did straight away.  Now I had an issue!  Joey had 3 Suryats and one Kurgat so I knew he must be close to retreat.  If he started his turn 3 in retreat even though his troopers were immune to retreat the game would still end at the end of his turn – which would result in a draw!  I tried to move my doctor up to treat Shonobu and get her smoke and failed 4 times (3 command tokens spent!!!).  I moved up my link team killing the Kurgat and moved up the Rui Shi with its repeater and placed it in suppression and moved up my hacker and FO Keisotsu.  I started by trying to use GOTCHA through the repeater to immobilise the Suryats and managed to get two, but when I moved my link through their LoF one of them managed a Reset.  So I broke out the blitzens but because of the saturation zone had to fire only one at a time and got two of them to Immobilised level 2.  I managed to get Oyama and my Domaru next to the civilians.

Round 3 Morats

True to Morats the fight was not over!!!!  He still had over 75 points so didn’t go into retreat.  The Morats still had 3 regular orders as they are immune to being isolated!  He moved up his Rasyat with shotgun catching the Rui Shi, Hacker and FO.  The Rui Shi and hacker went down, and the FO made his ARM save and backed around a corner. The Rasyat then went up against the link and was taken down after a couple of shots from the Combi Haramaki.

Round 3 JSA

I now had just enough orders to move the link leader away to break Oyama and the Domaru from coherency.  Then Oyama and the Domaru each grabbed a civilian and ran for it – Oyama using his LT order to get one civilian into my dead zone.  As a last act of violence my FO Keisotsu gunned down the last Immobilised Rasyat on the table with his Combi.

Final Score

Stuart Full Win 3 TO 5 OP

Joey Loss 0 TP 0 OP

Game 3

  • Opponent: Luis (drjarkomalone)
  • Faction: Bakunin
  • Mission: Antenna Field
  • List: B

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Although we had been to a few tournaments we hadn’t played each other yet!  I expeted Luis to put out a vanilla Nomad list but instead he had a real Femme Fatale Bakunin list.  I won initiative and knowing the decided to choose turn order and to go second.  Luis chose to set up second.

Round 1 Bakunin

This was a very defensive first turn.  A buch of Pupniks ran up the field keeping out of LoF and a couple of Morlocks.  Luis next moved up his Kusanagi/Moria/Moria Hacker Haris towards one of the Antenna on the mid line inside an 8” square objective room avoiding my Keisotsu link teams LoF.  His also moved in on the Antenna on his own DZ with a zero FO.

Round 1 JSA

I decided to make a big play with Yo Jimbo and moved him into my Keisostu’s combat group.  He used his Ext Impetuous order to head to the Moria link and got stunned by a Flush Pulse remote from long range!  Not a good start – although he did manage to plant his Koalas right next to the room.  I bought out my Ninja Killer hacker who moved up to the end of the wall of the room with the Moria’s and surprise shot with Red Rum putting down the Moria Hacker.  I then moved up my Karakuri Haris, taking out the flash pulse bit that had stunned Yo Jimbo with a mark 12.  They then moved up opened a door and moved back.  But rather than rush into the room – I activated the Rui Shi across the table and shot at long range.  With MSV2 the Rui Shi was able to cut down the other Moria which just left Kusanagi.  Next I sent in the Karakuri, lead by a boarding shotgun.  I managed to wound Kusanagi onto NWI and get into base contact with the antenna but not put her down.

I next moved the Keisotsu link who came down off the roof and managed to shoot from across the table the Zero on the Antenna on Luis DZ and killed him.  I then fired a missile onto a Moria who was supressing but as I shot at her from over 24” she had to break suppression and the Missile Launcher killed her.  I then moved over and caught one of the Pupniks which managed to killed Chimera and the other 2 Pupniks in the blast (but not the one I was shooting at which dodge – but then went inactive).

End Round 1 – I had 2 antenna to Luis 0

Round 2 Bakunin

The Morklocks went first and ran into the room with the Karakuri laying down chain rifle templates but only managing to wound 1.  One of the Morlocks ended in B2B with the Karakuri on the antenna.  The other went down to a hail of fire and a Koala.  He then moved up his HMG Remote taking out my Keisotsu ML and my Rui Shi!  Luckily my Mark 12 Karakui managed to take it down!

Round 2 JSA

Yo Jombi was back in the game.  He ran up to the door.  Threw down smoke, then ran through and murdered Kusanagi.  Then he ran up and into combat with the Morlock, getting an additional dice from the Karakuri. It took a couple of hits to kill him due to the Morlocks Totally Immunity wich nullifies Double Action but he went down.

The Keisotsu link moved up.  The Ninja hack moved to take the antenna over allowing the Karakuri to move out.  One got a mine to the face but dodges, and then managed to take out a zero who was near the centre antenna.

Round 3 Bakunin

Luis was in Loss of LT had two baggage bots and a zero FO giving him 76 points which meant he didn’t go into retreat (Which was lucky for me as the game would have ended).  He moved the Zero up to an antenna on the other side of the table and laid a mine.

Round 3 JSA

I had the run of the table but needed to get as many OP as possible so the Keisotsu took the centre antenna.  The Karakuri moved on managing to get up on a crate to get a LoF on the prone Zero and take him out.  Then leaving one Karakuri on the Antenna on Luis DZ the other two just had enough orders to hunt down the two baggage bots and secure the HVT.

Final Score

Stuart Full Win 3 TP 10 OP

Luis Loss 0 TP 1 OP

Final Thoughts

I managed to get 4th place with 6 TP and 18 OP.  3rd place was only 1 OP over me which shows how important every OP is.  It was a great tournament – but it does go to show that the best laid plans can go to waste – with that initial defeat of Shinobu by John’s Tikbalang in close combat changed the whole 1st game!

I has great opponents and even though I managed to wipe out both Joey and Luis – they were both very good sports and fought to the bitter end (like true Morats!).

If there is one thing I would pick up as a discussion point for future games it’s DOORS!!! But that’s for another discussion!

 

Leave a Reply

