Showdown at Hydra

Showdown at Hydra

So what’s a Showdown you ask?  A Showdown ITS tournament is a one round tournament where everyone plays a single mission.  The winner is of course the person with the Highest Tournament Points (3 for a Full Win) and then the highest Objective Points which usually  breaks any ties!  They are a great way to add a little bit of edge to your gaming nights in your local group or at your friendly local games store (FLGS) and have that added bonus (or not!) of gaining some ITS rankings!)

Chris Hobday and I decided to take the trip over to the Hydra Gaming Club in High Brooms, Kent (near Tonbridge) which is only a 5 minute walk from the station.  We faced off against the Totally Crit Crew- Me (Yu Jing) vs Rob Neal (Corregidor) and Chris (Hassassin Baram) vs John Benford (Combined Army).  The mission – DECAPITATION!

Decapitation is a great mission which can really test both your offense and defensing skills.  Since your lieutenant’s identity is open information you have to turtle up and defend your LT vs your opponent but at the same time you have to hunt down the opponents Lt which will be surrounded by his troops, mines, Koalas, MadTraps etc.  Killing more Lt’s will earn you 3 OP killing the same will get 1.  There are also 3 OP’s for killing more Army Points and 1 for a tie (which surprisingly does happen!).  The last 4 points (yes just checking you can count to 10!) are for 2 classifieds each worth 2 OP.

My List

I’ve been working on playing Yu Jing recently – and although my strongest lists are JSA I decided to go for a new list!  I had played Miranda Ashcroft at my last ITS who had amazingly taken out a whole link team of Wildcats almost on her own, so I wanted to get her in the list.  I also had just finished painting my Yan Hau (Twin Missile Launchers) and was keen to give it a run!

fullsizeoutput_4d5e

Hydra One Shot 300

GROUP 1

  •  SHINOBU Combi Rifle, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0.5 | 47)
  •  RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
  •  MIRANDA ASHCROFT Combi Rifle, Nanopulser / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0 | 19)
  •  KUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
  •  KUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
  •  KUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
  •  KUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
  •  CELESTIAL GUARD (Kuang Shi Control Device) Combi Rifle + Light Smoke Grenade Launcher / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 13)
  •  ZHANSHI Lieutenant Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 11)
  •  Zhanshi YĪSHĒNG Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 15)

GROUP 2

  •  NINJA Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Tactical Bow / Pistol, DA CCW, Knife. (0 | 29)
  •  HAC TAO (Executive Order) HMG, Nanopulser / Pistol, DA CCW. (2 | 69)
  •  YĀN HUǑ 2 Missile Launchers + TinBot C (Neurocinetics) / Pistol, Knife. (2 | 56)

6 SWC | 299 Points

Open in Infinity Army

The Game

  • Mission: Decapitation
  • Opponent: Rob Neal
  • Faction: Corregidor

Rob won the initiative and decided to go first (In Decapitation going first is really powerful I find!).  So I set up second.  Rob bought a full link of Alguaciles (one of which was his LT prone on a roof top), lots of REMs, a few Jaguars and a mysterious Camo token on a rooftop which had to be an Intruder.

I set up bunkered in a building on my left side of the table.  My Lt inside, a Yan Hao on the roof with a doctor prone nearby.  My chain gang of Kuang Shi were tucked behind a building so they didn’t run into the path of any snipers!

Then Rob made an Infiltration roll and planted a camo token right on my DZ near my Zhanshi Lt hidey hole!  I placed down Shinobu and she fluffed the roll and went back to my DX table edge!  This was not a good start!

Turn 1 Corregidor

I took 2 orders off with a command token but that still left a lot of orders on the table.  Rob started off moving his camo token up and into the building.  I threw a couple of discover rolls at him but they failed. At this point Rob was looking shifty – like – this is too easy!  It was.  He moved up to next to my Lt.  and I placed a TO Camo maker down in the room (as when you delay you have to drop from Hidden Deployment).  He revealed his camo marker as a bandit and moved into B2B with my Lt.  I reveal my Hac Tao and shot him with a pistol to the head AND the Hac Tao had Executive Authorisation and immediately became the Lt!  The Bandit split his shotgun burst putting one into each.  My Zhanshi former Lt went down hard but the Hac Tao won the F2F – but the Bandit saved his ARM.  Next action the Bandit moved into CC and attacks (skill of 21 with MA2 and a DA CCW).  The Hac Tao grads his DA CCW and meets him head on.  Blade clash and the Hac Tao goes down taking a hit and failing both ARM saves (rolling 9+).  LT DOWN!

IMG_6684

Rob then drops a Tom Cat on my right side of the board and moved around catching a Kaung Shi in the open and putting him down, then took out Miranda through her ODD!

Turn 1 Yu Jing

Things had not started will – so I moved 2 orders into my main combat group to get to 10 (one still hidden).  My Kuang Shi has to run towards the Tomcat and one got taken down.  I moved the Rui Shi around to take out the Bandit in a burst of Spitfire rounds through the window.  The Rui Shi then moved up the flank to nearly in sight of the Alguacile on a rooftop with a missile launcher.  Instead of going with the Rui Shi – I revealed a Ninja Killer Hacker and moved up through buildings to within 8” of Robs flashpulse repeater remote – but I forgot there was a Koala hidden in the building.  Rob would have allowed me to take it back, but I decided to go fir it and threw a Red Rum attack through the repeater to his Alguacile Hacker in his link and put him down.  Then amazingly save the ARM roll on the Koala!

With the link down to 4 members I moved the Rui Shi out and cut down the Aguicilla on the roof.  The Rui shi then retreated a bit and went on suppression.

Turn 2 Corregidor

Not wanted to have a Ninja kicking around so close to his Lt Rob sent in the Jaguar.  I was left with three choices – Shoot my Tac bow (Then he’d chain rifle me), dodge (the he’d pistol shoot me) or engage – which I chose, and he cut me in half with his CC21.

With the Ninja threat out of the way he moved his flash pulse remote into LoS of my Rui Shi but at over 24” so I couldn’t suppress.  I decided to leave it in suppression and made the BTS rolls for the flash pulse.  So he sent in the three man link.  I had to break suppression to fire back and they shot it full of holes with combi rifle fire.   Another Kuang Shi went down to the Tom Cat.

Turn 2 Yu Jing

Things where looking grim.  I was down to 5 orders and my Lt.  So I decided to bring the Yan Hao down off the roof (he had done nothing so far as no one wanted a Burst 2 missile shot in ARO).  I moved towards the center of the table shooting one of the Alguacile link and vaporised him!  He then moved in on a Maasi hold out in the center building and took a koala to the chest failing an ARM roll.  I moved to the door and dodged another Koala then popped the door with my last action and took a shot at the Maasi and put him down.

Turn 3 Corregidor

Rob moved his Heavy Shotgun, Heavy Flamethrower REM up and blasted big holes into the Yan Hao until it went down.  Then moved up killing my Celestial Guard LT and almost catching Shinobu in the balst of his shotgun – but she managed to dodge around the corner.  He then bought out a Tomcat and got up the roof to kill my doctor – who managed to survive a couple of shots!

Turn 3 Yu Jing

I was down to Shinobu – who went out fighting taking the REM down with her as she was burnt to a crisp.

Final Score

Rob 3 TP 10 OP (He got extreme preducide and secure HVT)

Stuart 0 VP 0 OP 0 VP

It was a great game.  Once I’d lost my Hac Tao I was in trouble as he was my main big stick.  The Yan Hao is a 56 point scary ARO piece but wasn’t good for much else, and Shinobu had a bad day…. (make me think I should settle for normal Infiltration rather than take the risk!)

Look forward to the next Showdown!

Leave a Reply

