War of the Worlds

War of the Worlds @Ibuywargames, Woking

So this was going to be a long day of Infinity!  Waking up at 5:00 and in the train for 6:30 – me and Chris Hobday my follow Kentish Rogue fueled up on Starbuck’s coffee and bacon butties and prepared for the 4 round TAG Line event.  It really was going to be a long day.

With 9 tables and 17 players the shop was packed to capacity.  Unfortunately, we lost one person so we had an odd number – but all those who got a buy got a discount for the next tournament ticket.  The TAG Line narrative had some interesting missions which made list building very difficult.  With very intense 4 x 1hr45min rounds I didn’t get time to make many notes or take pictures – so sorry for any inaccuracies!

Big thanks go out to Keith Shulter and the staff at IBuyWargames in Woking for hosting this great event!

The Tables

My Lists

IMG_6758

War of the Worlds List A

──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1

  •  SHINOBU Combi Rifle, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0.5 | 47)
  •  TOKUSETSU EISEI Doctor (MediKit) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)
  •  KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
  •  KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
  •  KEISOTSU Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 17)
  •  RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
  •  HÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
  •  YOJIMBO Contender, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades, CrazyKoalas (2) / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 21)

GROUP 2

  •  HARAMAKI Missile Launcher / Pistol, DA CCW. (1.5 | 33)
  •  HARAMAKI Blitzen, Combi Rifle / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 29)
  •  HARAMAKI Blitzen, Light Shotgun / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 24)
  •  HARAMAKI Blitzen, Contender / Pistol, AP CCW. (0 | 22)
  •  OYAMA Lieutenant Chain Rifle, E/M Grenades / Breaker Pistol, AP CCW, EXP CCW. (0 | 28)

4.5 SWC | 300 Points

Open in army builder

War of the Worlds List B

IMG_6755

──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1

  •  O-YOROI HMG + Heavy Flamethrower, CrazyKoalas / EXP CCW. (2 | 83)
  •   O-YOROI PILOT Contender / Pistol, CCW. (0)
  •  O-YOROI Lieutenant HMG + Heavy Flamethrower, CrazyKoalas / EXP CCW. (3 | 83)
  •   O-YOROI PILOT Contender / Pistol, CCW. (0)
  •  KEISOTSU Paramedic (MediKit) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 11)
  •  KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
  •  KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 10)
  •  YURIKO ODA Combi Rifle, Panzerfaust, D-Charges, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 24)
  •  KEMPEI (Chain of Command) Combi Rifle / Pistol, CCW, Electric Pulse. (0 | 22)
  •  NINJA Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Tactical Bow / Pistol, DA CCW, Knife. (0 | 29)
  •  RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
  •  PANGGULING (Minesweeper, Repeater) Electric Pulse. (0 | 8)

6 SWC | 300 Points

Open in army builder


CHAPTER 1: Operation: The Grid

  • Opponent: Joe
  • Faction: Qapu Khalqi
  • Mission: The Grid
  • List: A

This was Joe’s first ITS after a few months off from Infinity.  He had bought along an Interesting Qapu Khalqi list with a full 5 man Djanbazan link team and Scarface and Cordelia.  We rolled off for the bonus units and Joe got the 3 Unidrons and Nourkias, Umbria Samaritan.  So I got Toni and her Tikbalang!  I won the initiuative and decided to take first turn.

Turn 1 JSA

It all should have started so well!  Shinobu had passed her Infiltration plus roll and was on the opposite side of a door to Nourkias and the Unidrons.  She moved up to a window out of line of sight ready to throw in a grenade when Joe points out a cunningly hidden unit behind a banner I hadn’t seen.  So I decided to press on and he revealed from Holoprojectors level 1 as a Hafza with spitfire.  OK still no wory, I was throwing smoke on 16’s he was hitting on 3’s – CRIT! Shonobu was on the floor!

So 1 order in and I was on plan B.  My Haramaki Missile launcher was on a lookout post but couold see through the dense terrain – but when he came down to ground level he could see one of the Djanzaban Sniper (who has set up behind some bushes), Scarface and a Janisary doctor.  So I risked ignoring the doctor and split missiles between Scarface and the Djanzaban Sniper who was right next to two other members of the link.  I hit the Sniper but get beaten in the F2F and take a wound, but the template goes down and blasts the two other link members.  Scarface takes a couple of wounds as well.  So I repeat this, beating the Sniper and taking him down and take Scarface out with the second shot.  Not bad for two shots!

The rest of my orders go into FO’ing a couple of antenna then decided to make use of the TAG!  So I sent it up the left flank – taking on and killing a Camo’d FO, then getting a shot on the Hafza who killed Shinobu and taking him down.  I parked up and went on suppression!

Turn 1 Qapu Khalqi

It seems that the Hafza was Joe’s Lt so he was in Loss of Leuitenant!  He went for the objectives getting some FO rolls in on the Antenna and burning some command tokens to get regular orders and using a co-ordinated order he got the Samaritan and the Batroids up onto the roof where they used their K-1 riffles to take down on Antenna and picked of a Keisotsu FO up on a roof!  They then used their own irregular orders to Harass Toni and score one hit with one of the Batroids being taken down.  He also bought up in Yuan Yuan in smoke to chain rifle range ready to ARO Toni next turn.

Turn 2 JSA

Toni was pinned down and would take 3 ARO’s if she moved!  By best option was to move the Hamaki link up and as I did destroyed an antenna with 2 missiles (it kept making saves!).  The Missile launcher popped around a corner getting a shot that would have put 2 Unidrons and the Samaritan under the template BUT he fluffed the roll and got hit in return and taken down!  So I loaded support ware on a Rui Shi and bought it around killing the Yuan Yuan surgically removed the other two batroids leaving just the Samaritan to face.

Turn 2 Qapu Khalqi

The epic matchup of Toni vs Nourkios.  They exchanged fire 2 or 3 times but eventually Nourkios went down.  Meanwhile he used Cordelia to lay a Demo charge on one antenna but these things were indestructible.  He had better success with another one and took that one out.

Turn 3 JSA

Time was running out!  I had destroyed less antennae and my main anti-material weapon (the missile launcher) was gone.  So Neko Oyama broke from the link and ran upto a designated antenna cutting it down with his EXP CCW.  The Rui Shi took a long range shot or Cordelia and managed to put her down.

Turn 3 Qupu Khalqi

With very few orders left Joe couldn’t get into a position to score any more objectives so the game was ended!

Final Score

The final; scoring was close!

Stuart Complete Victory  3 VP 7 OP (Most Antenna designated [4 to 3] 3 OP, Same number of Antenna destroyed [2]  2 OP, Killing Nourkius 2)

Joe Loss VP 0 OP 2 (Same number of Antenna destroyed 2 OP)


CHAPTER 2: Join The TAG Line

  • Opponent: Chris Howell
  • Faction: Bakunin
  • Mission: Deadly Dance
  • List: B

This was going to be a tough mission.  Not only is the scenario insane – everything was a jungle with extremely difficult terrain!!!!  Also due to the fact we could only have 2 lists both me and Chris elected to use our 10 order limited Insertion lists.  Chris came armed with a trio of Riot Grrls and a trio of Moira’s plus Cordelia and Scarface.  I lost initiative and Chris elected to go first.  We deployed and then rolled for the quadrants.  I got the one forested away to the right and Chris got the opposite so we both had to get across the table!  As this wasn’t a limited Insertion mission I knocked off 2 orders from his pool leaving him with only 8!

Turn 1 Bakunin

Not much happened in turn one.  Mainly Scarface hauled arse across the table to get into his quadrant and then went on suppression.  I had turtled up behind buildings and a wall of 4 Koalas and a mine.

Turn 1 JSA

I had two jobs now – Kill Scarface and get one Yoroi into the scoring zone.  First up I used my LT order on one Yoroi to take Scarface down but got hit back taking a wound.  So plan B – Yuriko pops out and dropped 2 separate PanzerFausts on him but only managed to get 2 wounds!  So the Yoroi tried again and succeeded killing him outright!  I used some co-ordinated orders to move up some of my units and my other Yoroi across the table (at 4 move each time, that’s not that fast….) and parked up right next to one of his camo markers with my Ninja killer hacker close by in case it was a hacker. He just managed to get into the quadrant.  We added up points and we tied on 83!!! I got 1 OP for the TAG though.

Turn 2 Bakunin

Now it was a game!  A Zero camo maker advanced into his quadrant.  He then moved up his Riot Grrl team and his Moira’s.  The Moiras started laying down EM grenades and after a couple of failed attempted managed to put my LT Yoroi into Immobilized 2 and Isolated!  Luckily I had Chain of Command on my Kempetai.  The Riot Grrls took out the Rui Shi which I had left in the open….

Turn 2 JSA

I used my Yoroi in the scoring quadrant to discover the camo maker as a Zero FO and then engaged it in CC and killed it with the Yorois EXP CCW.  I then decided take on the Moira’s and manage to put down one, and bought up my Ninja killer hacker.  My link team moved up through the dense jungle.  I needed to get my TAG back but I had limited orders so I had to break my link and as part of a co-ordinated order using my last token I put my TAG back online.  The TAG then used its irregular order (From being isolated) to shoot at a Riot Grrl and the zero but only managed to kill one Riot Grrl.

At the end of the turn I scored 2 pointed for owning my quadrant and Chris got one point for having the zero in his.

Turn 3 Bakunin

The last push!  His Riot Grrl put my Yoroi back into IMM-2 with a Blitzen!  He then tried to shoot it up but it stayed up on 1 wound.  He then got an EM grenade spec fire hit on the other Yoroi and concentrated fire onto it to put it down!

Turn 3 JSA

I needed to clear his quadrant.  So once again I removed the IMM2 state on my TAG with Yuriko and went to work.  I managed to take down the Zero and then kept shooting at the Riot Grrl who kept dodging further and further into the scoring zone (dodging on 16’s about 3 times).  With limited time my Ninja moved to secure his HVT, and took a last shot at the Riot Grrl and put her down.

Final Score

Stuart Complete Victory 3 VP 7 OP (Won assigned quadrant [x1] 1 OP, TAG in Assigned Quadrant [x2] 2 OP, Secured HVT 2 OP, Killed more Army Points 2)

Chris Loss 0 VP 1 OP (Won assigned quadrants [x1] 1 OP)


CHAPTER 3: Master Stroke

  • Opponent: Chris Foulgar
  • Faction: JSA
  • Mission: Acquisition
  • List: B

JSA vs JSA!  The worst part of playing your own faction is you know exactly what you’re in for….  I won the initiative and decided to choose turn order and go second.  So Chris made me deploy first.  I guessed there was going to be a Shinobu out there so I turtled up and set up layers of defense around my TAGs ensuring there would not be enough room to move Shonibu into B2B contact without going through other things.

Turn 1 Evil JSA

Chris started my moving his 3 Karakuri fire team haris up to secure the center area straight away, with a MK12 on one flank and Boarding Shotgun on the other and the Combi rifle one on the tech coffin.

He then bought a camo marker onto the table which threw smoke and revealed as Shinobu – big surprise!  He had chosen to come in a path between my two TAGs.  He moved up and set of 2 Koalas and managed to dodge them!!!  He moved up more and set of another Koala and dodged it as well!  I thought he would then try and fight through my Keisotsu link team which was forming a wall around my TAG but he decided to use an Inituative attack with Shinobus Nanopulsar which caught the whole link and a Yoroi in the template.  As Shinobu has fire through smoke all the targets gained LoF back.  The Keisotsu all dodged and the Yoroi put down a Heavy Flamer over Shinobu.  All but one of the Keisotsu dodged!  Only the Kemeptai went down.  The Yoroi shrugged of the hit, and Shinobu burned!!!!

Turn 1 Real JSA

I started off my using my Lt order on one Yoroi and going FSF with the MK12 Karakuri.  It critted!  I attached again and managed to put it down.  I then moved the second Yuroi around and attacked the Shotgun Karakuri and put it down after several exchanges of fire.  Running low on orders I decided to attack a Rui Shi on suppression and managed to put it down.

Turn 2 Evil JSA

Spending several orders Chris managed to get one of his Yazoi servant bots up and Engineered both of the Karakuri!!  He didn’t have any order left but I was back to where I started from.  He moved a Shakimi out ignoring the gunfire from my Yoroi to secure an antenna.

Turn 2 Real JSA

This seemed like a repeat of the last turn.  I set up Yoroi vs the MK 12 and got critted again, but I did manage to take it down.  I then switched to the other Yoroi who has little luck vs the Shotgun Yoroi and my TAG got taken out.  I attacked with my Rui Shi and put the Karakuri down and then decided to move my link team up to cover the way.

Turn 3 Evil JSA

The Karakuri were again bought back by the Engineer!  Chris also moved a Ninja Killer Hacker out of TO Camo right next to the antenna objective and made short work of Yuriko Odo, which broke my link, and then grabbed the antenna.  He then got the Combi Rifle and Shotgun Karakuri to switch and then proceeded to kill my Kempetai and another Keisotsu at the same time!

Turn 3 Real JSA

Out of options I decided to move my Lt Yoroi up and take on the Mk 12 and a Missile REM at the same time in an attempt to gain some ground… that didn’t go well and the TAG went down hard.  I was left with a few Keisotsu to throw sticks at the Karakuri which just bounced off its armour of 6 in cover.

Final Score

Chris 3 VP 10 OP

Stuart Loss 0 VP 0 OP


CHAPTER 5: Always Alive

  • Opponent: Andrew Nicholson
  • Faction: Yu Jing
  • Mission: Show of Force
  • List: A

Andrew and I had met in battle before at the 1066 tournament!  This was going to be tough.  We rolled off for extra units – I got the Overdron and he got Eduardo!  I guessed he would have a Shinobu out there so when I won initiative I decided to go first.  I made the roll and planted my Shinobu right near Eduardo…

Turn 1 JSA

It all started well.  Shinobu threw smoke.  Moved through to next to Eduardo then I decided to go TO again (as in the last tournament I played an Uhlan cut Shinobu down).  So with the addition of surprise attack Shinobu sliced through him in one hit!  Next there was a Shaolin monk and a Su Jian behind some crates.  If I came out of the smoke the Shaolin would chain rifle me, so I decided to spec. fire smoke and needed 10’s…fail, fail…….fail again!  Down to my last two orders I decided to take the risk and moved in on them.  The monk chain rifled and the Su Jian nano pulsed and Shinobu failed her dodge and went down!

With one order left in that pool I moved my TR bot so it would hit the Monk when in ran out with its impetious order next turn.  Next up I moved my Haramaki link (with only 3 orders as Andrew had taken 2 from them with his tactical command token).  They set up an interlocking field of death – ready for the Yu Jing assault.

Turn 1 Yu Jing

As I hoped one monk ran out and got gunned down by my TR HMG.  The other monk stayed in cover and threw down smoke…. Oh I see what’s coming next….. and up came the Rui Shi.  It moved up into the smoke and shot at the Missile Launcher Haramaki (none of the others could shoot back) but the Haramaki won the F2F and put the REM down to Unconscious level 2.  He then moved his servant bot (attached to Cordilia) and bought it back up. Last of all he moved the Mnk up to the center tech coffin.

Turn 2 JSA

The Haramaki when on the offensive.  They hit the Rui Shi again with missiles and scrapped it and the bot next to it in the blast.  They then moved up the right flank, taking out the monk on the way and moved through a building and got a line of fire on Scarface.  I decided to try and put him down with a Blitzen first but he got blasted by Scarface!  I then reformed the link and went in with my Haramaki Missile Launcher to shoot Scarface but Shinobu revealed and took a shot at his back.  The Haramaki managed to land both missiles putting two wounds on Scarface and blasting Cordilia who was next to Scarface, but I failed my ARM roll and he went down – shot in the back by Shinobu.

Where Shinobu had revealed had left her vulnerable and my Rui Shi moved up and hot her in the back – cutting her down!

Then Yo Jimbo has is moment.  Moving up the entire table he got into CC with the Su Jian.  On his first attack he only did it one wound but they were locked in CC.

Turn 2 Yu Jing

Andrew had one of those turns where he did it all right and it all went wrong….  He moved his Guilang up and surprised shot my Rui Shi – CRIT the Guilang went down.  He moved out Scarface at long range and exchanged fire with my TR HMG…… Scarface went down…… He then threw all his remaining orders into the Su Jian vs Yo Jimbo fight.  For once I tried to use MA3 instead of MA 4 to get that extra +3/-3 swing and it paid off.  Yo Jimbo put the kitty down!

Turn 3 JSA

My last turn.  I moved the Overdron up to the center.  The Haramaki grabbed a panoply, and Yo Jimbo moved back to secure the HVT.  With my last orders I moved my doctor up to heal one of the Haramaki.

Turn 3 Yu Jing

In retreat!  The brave Celestrial Guard leader stood up from being prone on a roof for the whole game and gunned down Yo Jimbo in the back!  A brave Keisotsu stood up and gunned down my medic!!!!!  The other Yu Jing ran away!

Final Score

Stuart Complete Victory 3 TP 9 OP (2 from the center tech coffin, +3 for holding it with a TAG, 2 for the panoply and 2 for killing more army points)

Andrew Loss 0 VP 0 OP


Final Summary

With the result of the last game I managed to get up to 3rd – just picked at the post by Chris Penfold also on 9 TP but more OP.  Graham Cleary took the win with 11/12 VP.

Lessons learned for today – crits kill Shinobu, and never ever stop shooting a Karakuri until it is in pieces……..

Looking forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

