Total Crit XI.1 Double Action!

Totally Crit XI.1 Double Action!

There was another small tournament going on somewhere in Spain this weekend, but for those of us who were staying at home there was TCXI!  It started as a two-round tournament, but then was modified to become two separate one day tournaments with an overall two day grand prize for those who could make both days.

Day one had a good turnout of 8 players (and our TO Chris ‘Pootle Flump’ decided to sit out to keep it even).

The Tables

My Lists

logo_201.png Totally Crit XI List A
───────────────────────────────────────fullsizeoutput_115f

GROUP 1sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png10  orden_impetuosa.png4
logo_11.pngGŬILÁNG (Minelayer) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 26)
logo_11.pngGŬILÁNG Boarding Shotgun, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 24)
logo_7.pngDÀOFĚI Lieutenant MULTI Rifle / Pistol, Shock CCW. (0 | 53)
logo_32.pngSÙ-JIÀN Spitfire, Light Flamethrower, Panzerfaust / Heavy Pistol, Knife. (2 | 59)
logo_36.pngRUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
logo_22.pngCELESTIAL GUARD (Kuang Shi Control Device) Combi Rifle + Light Smoke Grenade Launcher / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 13)
logo_23.pngKUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
logo_23.pngKUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
logo_23.pngKUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
logo_23.pngKUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)

GROUP 2sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png4
logo_17.pngHÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
logo_12.pngNINJA Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) Tactical Bow / Pistol, DA CCW, Knife. (0 | 29)
logo_1.pngZHANSHI Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 19)
logo_1.pngZHANSHI Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 11)

5.5 SWC | 299 Points

Open in Infinity Army

logo_201.png Totally Crit XI List B
──────────────────────────────────────

IMG_7617

GROUP 1sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png10  orden_impetuosa.png4
logo_3.pngTIGER SOLDIER Spitfire / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 32)
logo_9.pngHSIEN Lieutenant MULTI Rifle, Nanopulser / Pistol, AP CCW. (+1 | 57)
logo_44.pngRAIDEN (Minelayer, X Visor) Heavy Rocket Launcher, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 21)
logo_36.pngRUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 20)
logo_22.pngCELESTIAL GUARD (Kuang Shi Control Device) Combi Rifle + Light Smoke Grenade Launcher / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 13)
logo_23.pngKUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
logo_23.pngKUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
logo_23.pngKUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
logo_23.pngKUANG SHI Chain Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 5)
logo_40.pngSHINOBU Combi Rifle, Nanopulser, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Monofilament CCW. (0.5 | 47)

GROUP 2sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png4
logo_22.pngCELESTIAL GUARD Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 13)
logo_3.pngTIGER SOLDIER Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 27)
logo_17.pngHÙSÒNG Yaókòng HMG / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
logo_39.pngPANGGULING Hacker (EVO Hacking Device) Electric Pulse. (0.5 | 25)

6.5 SWC | 300 Points

Open in Infinity Army

 


Game 1

  • Opponent – Jamie “Savvers”
  • Faction – PanO
  • Mission – Armoury
  • List – A

Jamie had bought along a Yu Jing list but seeing 4/8 other players with Yu Jing had decided to play PanO (not for an advantage just to get some variety).  I won the initiative roll and decided to take 1st turn – which in the armoury is a risk, but I wanted to secure the armoury.  Jamie set up in cover, except for a Nisse Multi-Sniper on a roof top (which had an excellent fire lane to cut off my Rui Shi).

Turn 1 Yu Jing

My Kuang Shi moved off first but all managed to stay in cover.  Next up I revealed a TO Camo marker and moved to the armoury door, revealing a TO Camo Ninja Killer hacker.  He failed the first roll and then had to roll again, and passed.

With the armoury open I then activated my Su Jian/Spitfire in kitty form.  It did an 8” cautious move to get past the Nisse’s LoF, then went prone (done to Silhouette 0) and moved through the armoury narrow access gate.  He then grabbed a panoply and got a Motorcycle!!!! (After some rules checking we found that Climb Plus didn’t allow the Motorcycle to go up walls – real shame!).  Next the Su Jian went 16” up the North wall of the armoury and then went into suppression with a co-ordinated order along with some other units.  [RULES NOTE – Turns out after the fact you can do an Entire Order while in Climb Plus, you can only do Short Skills.  Also you can’t do entire orders (e.g. suppression fire) when using climb plus – only short skills!!!!].

Last up my Guilang Shotgun lays a mine in the door and moves into the armoury behind cover.

IMG_7574

Turn 1 PanO

Jamie starts out with an Auxilia and AuxBot.  He moves of to the west side of the armoury and sends to the AuxBot.  The Auxbot lays out a flame thrower on the Guilang, but manages to just edge the Ninja outside!  The mine and suppression total the AuxBot, the Guilang dodges, but I didn’t call an ARO for the Ninja as I didn’t think he was in LoF! Luckily he makes his ARM but gets burnt.

Jamie then brings up an ODD Spitfire Bulleteer.  It moves up and manages to draw a LoF to the Guilang and guns him down through the North Gate.  It then moves around to the West gate and getting right up against it draws a LoF to the Su Jian and the Ninja (who dodges back out of LoF).  After several exchanges of fire, with the Su Jian making a load of ARM roles, he finally gets past the 2 wounds and NWI and on the last order takes down the Su Jian.

ROUND 1 SCORING – No one left in the armoury so no points!

IMG_7575

Turn 2 Yu Jing

So time for Plan B!  The Kuang Shi continue to moveup.  I then buff the Rui Shi with Assisted fire and move it out enough to set the Buletter (but not his Nisse) and take it down.  The Rui Shi then takes out the Auxilia.  But now my Rui Shi can’t progress any further without crossing the LoF of the Nisse!  I activate a Guilang with combi, which moves up into the armoury and manages to take a surprise shot through the north gate to Jamies Hacker and puts him down.  He re-camos and then moves to the West gate and takes a Surprise Shot on the Nisse and knocks him unconscious.

Next up the Ninja (no more TO) Killer hacker moves in and on the second attempt cracks a panoply for a Multi Rifle!  He then sits in the NE corner an goes in suppression with his new gun!

Deciding to take a risk I use my Lt order and move my Dao Fei into the armoury, and bring up the Rui Shi closer to the mid line but in cover, and then placed the Guiland in suppression.

IMG_7576

Turn 2 PanO

His initial attack may have been blunted but there were still plenty of options for Jamie.  He used his 1 order in the 2nd combat group on his doctor to head the Nisse (but he had to stay prone).

He tires AD drops an Akilis into my back lines but fluffs the roll and has to start in his DZ.

Next up he brings up ANOTHER Spitfire Bulletter.  It starts of trying to discover the Dao Fei, who grits his teeth and doesn’t ARO, and fails (so he can’t be discovered again). Next he moves to get LoF on the Guilang Combi in suppression.  With MSV1 the Guilang puts up a tough fight but gets taken down after a few orders.  He starts to move his Nisse HMG out from the back lines but runs out of orders.

ROUND 2 SCORING – 1 point to Yu Jing!

fullsizeoutput_1160

Turn 3 Yu Jing

Time to consolidate the armoury but I knew that wouldn’t be enough I had to go in the offensive.  The Kuang Shi continued to run up with no ARO’s.  Next up I launched support ware on the Rui Shi.  I started to move up but Jamie revealed a TO Camo Croc man assault hacker and Carbonited it!  But this allowed me to use the Rui Shi’s repeated and use Red Rum from the killer hacker which blew his brains out with 4 wounds!  I managed to reset the Rui Shi on one order and moved around the armoury, drawing LoF onto the Nisse HMG and taking him out.  I engaged the Buletteer and put it down, then got a LoF of a sensor remote and took it out along with the Doctor (who we suddenly realised had LoF).  To make sure buletter didn’t get up again the Dao Fei put 3 rounds into it to finish it off.  Finally the Rui Shi and Dao Fei went on suppression along with the Ninja.

fullsizeoutput_115e

Turn 3 PanO

With only a few orders left, he throws everything at the armour.  The Akilis moves up and manage to draw LoF onto the Dao Fei through the east gate but the Dao Fei puts him down!  With no options left he brings out his Lt Fusiller who makes a brave one mad assault – takes down the Rui Shi from behind and then runs screeming at the armoury but is finally cut down by the Dao Fei!

ROUND 3 SCORING – 1 Point to Yu Jing

Final Score

Stuart – Complete Victory.  3 TP.  6 OP (2 round controlling the armoury, plus the final round).

Jamie – Loss.  0 TP.  0 OP.


Game 2

  • Opponent – JC “JC.Haynes”
  • Faction – Yu Jing
  • Mission – Decapitation
  • List – B

There were 4 players out of 8 playing Yu Jing so a mirror match was inevitable.  We threw down our initiative dice and JC wins, so I’m all prepared to take 2nd turn – but he chooses to deploy 2nd, so I get to go first!

I’m setting up and then he says – Oh I’ve got Strategos….. [RULES – Interesting question.  When do you have to declare Strategos?].  This makes things really tough as I can’t hold back Shinobu, so I have to guess.  I pick a great spot then realise the deployment is 16” so have to take it back and move her (luckily I remembered this before he started to deploy) and placed her in a building on the Western flank.  That ended up being good and bad.  He deploys a Domaru and a Yan Hao HMRC right next to her!  His Lt (Sun Tze) is on top if a building right on the other side of the table….

My LT Hsein starts on a roof top, surrounded by defensive units and a mine from my Raiden.

Turn 1 Yu Jing

Being decapitation – I want to kill his Lt in turn 1 so I can then get kills turn 2 and 3 as well…. well that’s the play anyway.  I combat drop a Tiger Spitfire in on the East side and cut down a Shaolin Monk with no real issue.

IMG_7592

I then Combat Drop in the 2nd Tiger with Combi and drop him right at the base of the ladder leading to his Lt.  He climbs the ladder and gets LoF on Sun Tze and the Domaru.  Sun Tze drops a double nano-pulser and the Domaru engages, and I plant all three combi shots into Sun Tze and hit three times.  Sun Tze fails 2/3 ARM saves and goes into NWI.  The Domaru engages a corpse as I have failed but ARM saves.  Determined to get Sun Tze I push up the second Tiger.  He shoots down the Domaru who is now visable at the top of the ladder and puts him down, then runs up to the ladder and up to Sun Tze.  Sun Tze ARO’s and flash pulses beating my 4 dice spitfire and I fail BTS and go stunned!!!!

IMG_7593

With not many orders left I drop some units into suppression and end my first turn.

Turn 2 Evil Yu Jing

JC’s monks and Kuang Shi all run towards my Tiger.  On makes it and chain rifles me but I save and shoot him in the head!  A second Shaolin moves up with his irregular and this time puts me down with his chain rifle, but gets gunned down as well.

He next moves up his Yan Hao and he tries to discover my Raiden and fails.  So he moves a bit more out to see my Yukong TR HMG and we exchange fire – he puts all his shots into the REM while my Raiden gets an uncontested shot on 15’s and misses!  It takes a couple of exchanges but the Yan Hao wins and puts the TR bot out of action, but doesn’t manage to get rid of the Raiden before running out of orders.

Turn 2 Yu Jing

Time to bring out Shinobu.  She throws a smoke grenade on the other side of the door – then opens the door so the smoke covers the Domaru and Yan Hao.  [RULES – The issue of whether this is how smoke works isn’t clear…. But it’s how we played it].  She re-camo’s and cuts the Yan Hao in half!  Then she moves to take on the Domaru … bug mistake… I forget that Domaru have Berserk so we are both making normal roles using MA3.  He is critting on an 11… but roles a 7!  I hit but don’t crit.  The Domaru fails his ARM (12 to monofilament) and is bisected). Shinobu makes the first ARM save but it’s an EM CCW and she fails the second BTS roll and goes Isolated – which completely blunts my attack!

I’ve now lost my three big hitters and need to work on plan B…. I have a celestial guard in the second CG which manages to move twice jump and jump onto a roof.  I have one action then to get a long rang shot on the back of Sun Tze through an open door, but my jump incurred an ARO from JC’s WarCor, who then flash pluses her and stuns her! So she drops prone to hide.

Last actions I bring up the Ru Shi and some other units and go on suppression.

Turn 2 Evil Yu Jing

JC repositions Sun Tze so he can’t get shot at again by the Celestial Guard.  He then activates a Pheasant Rank with Red Fury and takes a shot at Shinoby and crits!  He then moves up some more units but I’m dug in so he doesn’t get a good shot at anything.

Turn 3 Yu Jing

Last turn and no one has managed to get a Lt kill!  Time to make a big play!  I decided to take my Rui Shi and sink 8 orders into it, moving it all the way up the table, then climbed a building so I was above Sun Tze (who made a change face), then moved up and fired a close rage SpitFire burst into him on 12’s.  He ARO’s with a flash pulse (on 20’s!!!) and rolls 14…. I need to crit and I CRIT! Sun Tze goes down!

Turn 3 Evil Yu Jing

The only stick JC has now is his Su Jian and starts running it up.  It takes a hit from the Rui Shi and then takes on a couple of Kuang Shi, killing one, but they manage to eat up the rest of his orders.

Final Score

Stuart – Complete Victory 3 TP.  6 OP (More army points killed and more LT kills).  209 VP

JC – Loss 0 TP.  0 TP. 124 VP.


Game 3

  • Opponent – Andy “Riker”
  • Faction – Yu Jing
  • Mission – Front Line
  • List – B

So Andy and I have been to a few tournaments together and have chatted online a lot about Yu Jing and how great Andy’s painting is!  We had never managed to get a game in though, and this one was the top table for Day 1!

We draw classifieds and both choose intel comm.

I won the initiative, and although going second would have been a big tactical advantage in this mission, I decided I wanted to get out my Alpha Strike on him.  He deploys in a very dug in way.  He has a 2 Kuang Shi and 2 Shaolins guarding his flanks as well as two Mad Traps from his Pheasant (which is obviously CoC).  I hidden deploy my Shibobu right on his DZ in the middle.  His hold back is a Hsein HMG (obvious Lt material).

I try and bluff him by deploying a basic profile Celestial Guard in a room, surrounded by defences!

Turn 1 Yu Jing

Andy has deployed very well, and I’m not going to be able to walk in my Tigers on his side of the table without taking ARO’s.  He has a Kunag Shi on the east side and on the west side he has a holoecho of a Lu Dian (which may or may not be real).  So I take the risk and combat drop my Tiger Spitfire right near his DZ and he fails and scatters 16” backwards onto a building top.  It’s not all bad, as he can see a Mad Trap and takes it out.

Determined to push the Alpha Strike I reveal Shinobu, who starts in LoF of a Kuang Shi so moves behind a car while in Camo state.  She then throws a smoke grenade and then kills him.  All of this is costing far too many orders!  She then pops out of the smoke and puts 1 combi round into another Kuang Shi (out of chain rifle range) who goes dogged.  With only a couple of orders she doesn’t have the orders to get into the building with the Pheasent as there is another Kuang Shi to get through so she drops back and goes into suppression [and I make a big mistake with her facing!]

Out of orders in CG 1, I then combat drop by Tiger with Combi/Flamethrower onto the west side.  His first order is to shoot up the holoecho which turns out to be a fake!  He then moves up and shoots the second Mad Trap.  Last order he pokes around the corner and places 2 rounds onto the Rui Shi and 1 onto a TR Bot.  The TR fails and gies down and Rui Shi passes the ARM saves!

IMG_7605

Turn 1 Evil Yu Jing

First up the Kuang Shi in the building just runs up to a door and stops. A Shaolin monk makes a run at my Tiger who flames him.  The monk throws smoke, which is no use vs the flamer but it’s an uncontested role so it goes down and the monk is burned to death.  This now allows his Rui Shi to back up (out of flamer range) and take a shot at the Tiger putting him down.  He then moves his Tokusetsu Engineer up to his TR but and spends a couple of command tokens but manages to fix it.

The action now switches to his Hsein who comes up some stairs and takes out my TR Yukong.  He then moves along the rooftops and draws ARO’s from both my Raiden and my Tiger with Spitfire.  He splits his burst a putting 2 into each.  The Tiger goes down but the Raiden lands a hit which he saves.  He then uses his monk to spec fire a smoke grenade onto the rooftop to cover him from the Raiden.  Then moving through smoke he moves up on the roof top behind Shinobu – which is when I realise I have messed up my facing!  He shoots her twice, and hits once.  She fails change face, but makes the ARM role and gets to turn.  He has one order left!  So he goes again and this time she goes down – dead!  This was a real pivotal moment in the game!

Turn 2 Yu Jing

I have now lost all three of my big hitters!  I start with my Raiden and shoot some Heavy Rockets at him!  He dodges and goes prone.  Next I move the Rui Shi up.  It gets a great long range shot at his Rui Shi and puts it down.  It moves past a door and we realise that Andy has a camo maker with an ARO.  He choses not to take the ARO. And I push forwards.  [In hind sight this was a huge mistake.  I should have done a discover shoot and get rid of it!!!].  The Rui Shi then takes on his TR HMG and fluffs the roll (4 dice on 15’s) and goes down getting completely gets diced!!!!

Now I’m really out of options!  I still have 5 orders left in CG 1 so I start throwing co-ordinated orders into the Kuang Shi and my Hsein Lt and get them up the table.  2 of the Kuang shi go down the west flank.  First one gets around the corner and lays a template over the Lu Dian, Celestial Guard, Yao Zao and just manages to catch the Engineer.  Only the CG manages to dodge and everything else goes down!  Huge result.  The Kuang Shi takes only a single hit and goes dogged.  Next turn I co-ordinate again and both Kuang Shi go at it and manage to take to the TR bot which kills one of them.

I use my Lt order to place the Hsein on suppression.

Turn 2 Evil Yu Jing

Things are looking bad for Andy.  His entire west flank has gone but he is not out!  The Hsein stands up again and manages to kill the Raiden this time.  He then uses is camo marker which is an assault hacker and carbonites my Hsein.  He then moves and takes a great spot covering then central fire land with his Hsein and goes into suppression.

Last action he reveals a TO camo (ninja hacker) on a roof top and moves him up to get into my scoring zone.

Turn 3 Yu Jing

The last round!  For the tournament!

I start by reseting my Hsein.  He doesn’t ARO with his Guilang Assault hacker as he knows that the Kuang shi outside the room is waiting for that to happen, so he can go in and kill him.  I move up my Hsein towards his Hsein in suppression.  We exchange fire at 18” and  both miss, his monk ARO dodges 4’ forward.  I move again this time I land a hit on him and he fails his ARM but stands firm, the monk dodges closer.  I only have burst 3 so I really don’t want to split burst but I have to and next move into cover and put 2 on the Hsein and 1 on the monk.  The Hsein makes his saves and I miss the monk!  With my last orders in the other combat group I move my Celestial Guard to get a LoF on the Guilang who remains in camo!

Turn 3 Evil Yu Jing

Andy has about 4 orders left in his main pool.  His monk leads the way and runs 4” towards my Hsein and into CC.  The Hsein shoots him with a DA round and the monk uses CC.  The Hsein wins but the monk makes both saves!  The monk then throws down big time.  They CC each other my Hsein CC 19 with MA 1 and him with CC 22 and MA3.  First hit goes to the Monk and I fail my ARM save and go to one wound.  Second attack goes to the Monk and I save.  Last order and 3rd attack and the monk lands a hit and the Hsein goes down!!!!!!!  NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

fullsizeoutput_115c

Now it’s just clearing up.  His TO Ninja drops out of camo and puts a DA arrow into the Celestial Guards chest and that’s about it.

Final Score

Andy – Complete Victory 3 TP.  (9 VP, holding all three zones).  161 VP

Stuart – Loss 0 TO. 0 OP.  61 VP


Final Placings

With that last nail biting round over Andy goes on to win the tournament with 9 TP.  I get knocked back into 4th as 2nd, 3rd, and 4th all have 6 TP.  But going into day two with 2 wins and a loss is not bad!

I enjoyed playing these two lists but my big gamble with not having any specialist (bar the EVO Hacker) in list B was both an advantage but also a big disadvantage as it was costing me in classifieds.  In all three games, I didn’t land a single classified and that really caused me to lose out on OP’s!

Onwards to day 2.

Screen Shot 2017-08-04 at 13.14.07

Leave a Reply

